Semen Padang

Semen Padang

I laughed hard when I
saw cement-hauling
trucks with the inscription

“Semen Padang”, cause I
knew I had to take
pictures of one of them

to show to my friends –
some of whom I know
will laugh really hard.

But semen is not a
dirty word in Bahasa,
as it means “cement”.

With this, we see the
wonders of how languages
evolve differently.

One thought on “Semen Padang

  1. language is always interesting especially if it means another thing to another country. like susu in bahasa indonesia means milk but in the philippines, it means breasts. 😉

Leave a Reply

